DEV Community

Angela Riggs
Angela Riggs

Posted on • Originally published at angelariggs.github.io on

Resources for Self-Education and Allyship

I’m seeing a lot of non-Black folks seeking ways to support their Black friends and coworkers, to advocate against racism and police brutality and the systems of oppression that are becoming harder for people with inherent privilege to ignore.

I’m also seeing a lot of great resources out there for self-education and allyship, so I thought I’d compile some of them into one place. This is intended to be a living article, so I’ll update it as I continue to learn and engage.

If you have resources for any category that you would like me to include, please drop by Twitter to DM me or send me a tweet at @AngelaRiggs_. If it’s a resource that someone else created, please make sure to include the appropriate way to credit them!

Effective advocacy & support

Educate yourself

Donate

Note: As Kimberly Bryant pointed out, donating isn’t just about the immediate needs of bail funds - it’s about funding grassroots organizations that are working for systemic and community changes.

Action

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
olgertelfe profile image
olgertelfe • Edited

The more modern society is, the more problems appear that were covered in the distant past. Especially racism, such an unpleasant topic and difficult. But now we can solve it and do everything so that there is the best possible attitude towards people like us. The new anti-racist education strategy is already in place in many schools and universities spacecoastdaily.com/2020/12/new-st... if we continue to adhere to it. That is exactly the one in the world in which our children will live will become a little better.