DEV Community

Angela Lam
Angela Lam

Posted on

Recommend A Coding Podcast

Being a newbie to coding, I recently dived into the coding podcast hole. There are technology and terminologies that I don't understand or need more information about, but it's hard to read or find that information. I believe that podcasts about coding will help and guide me in the tech field. Below are some of the podcasts that I am current or have listened to:

CodeNewbie

CodeNewbie has been my favorite coding podcast so far. The podcast focuses on guest's coding journey.

How to transition into development after over a decade in your field (S17:E6)

I found this episode to be pretty relatable. I've been in my field for over 5 years now and I'm trying to make the switch over to tech. Hearing a nurse talk about graduating from a bootcamp and entering the tech field gave me hope and I ended the episode with new insight and advice.

What you should know about frontend development (S16:E8)

While looking for a job, I'm debating whether I want a frontend, backend, or full-stack position. Listening to this episode gave me some insight on what a frontend developer does, which was very enlightening.

What failing technical interviews can teach you (S16:E6)

As someone who is actively applying for jobs right now, but I haven't had an interview yet, I'm nervous as heck about my first tech interview. Listening to someone with a CS degree and background talk about failing interviews and struggling really helped me get some "peace of mind." Tech interviews aren't easy, even for CS majors, so I shouldn't stress TOO much.

Learn to Code in One Month

Learn to Code in One Month is a podcast for beginners who want to learn to code, but don’t know where to start.

Front-end vs Back-end Developers | What's the difference?

Similar to the CodeNewbie episode, "What you should know about frontend development", this episode allowed me to get some insights on frontend vs backend developing.

How I Got Hired at GitHub, Interview Tips, and Salary Negotiation with Joel Califa

This episode did not give me a lot of tips or insights, but I did thoroughly enjoyed the episode. The episode allowed me to hear a journey that wasn't similar to mine at all. It gave me more perspective about the tech field.

Recommendations?

I just dipped my feet in the coding podcast water, so I would love any recommendations for another coding podcast. I still have a lot to learn and podcasts are a great way to do that. Please comment below some of your favorite podcasts!

Top comments (0)