DEV Community

angu10
angu10

Posted on

Granting Access to Read-Only Users and Refreshing Permissions Automatically: A Function-Based Solution

Problem Statement

We have a PostgreSQL database with multiple schemas and tables. Some users have read-only access to the database and and they relay on Devops/Support team to refresh their access to view any new schemas or tables added to the database. We need to provide a solution to allow read-only users to refresh their access so they can view new schemas and tables as they are added.

Named Read-only User Group

Function 1: Will create a user and create a read_only group not available. If the group is available, it will create the user and password, attach it to the read_only group, and add all existing schema read-only access.

CREATE EXTENSION IF NOT EXISTS pgcrypto;

CREATE or replace FUNCTION create_users_and_grant_access(users text[]) RETURNS void AS $$
DECLARE
    READONLY_GROUP text := 'readonly';
    password text;
    user_name text;
    schemata text;
BEGIN
    FOREACH user_name IN ARRAY users LOOP
        -- Check if the user already exists
        PERFORM 1 FROM pg_user WHERE usename = user_name;
        IF NOT FOUND THEN
            -- Generate a random password for the new user
            password := encode(gen_random_bytes(12), 'base64');


            -- Create the database user with the hashed password
            RAISE NOTICE 'Creating database user: %', user_name;
            RAISE NOTICE 'Password: %', password;
            EXECUTE format('CREATE USER %I WITH PASSWORD %L', user_name, password);

            -- Create the read-only group if it does not exist
            PERFORM 1 FROM pg_roles WHERE rolname = READONLY_GROUP;
            IF NOT FOUND THEN
                RAISE NOTICE 'Creating read-only group: %', READONLY_GROUP;
                EXECUTE format('CREATE ROLE %I', READONLY_GROUP);
            END IF;

            -- Add the user to the read-only group
            RAISE NOTICE 'Adding user to read-only group: %', READONLY_GROUP;
            EXECUTE format('GRANT %I TO %I', READONLY_GROUP, user_name);
        ELSE
            RAISE NOTICE 'User already exists: %', user_name;
        END IF;
    END LOOP;

    -- Grant read-only access to all schemas for the read-only group
    FOR schemata IN SELECT schema_name FROM information_schema.schemata WHERE schema_name NOT LIKE 'pg_%' AND schema_name != 'information_schema' LOOP
        -- Check if the read-only group already has access to the schema
        PERFORM 1 FROM information_schema.role_table_grants WHERE grantee = READONLY_GROUP AND table_schema = schemata;
        IF NOT FOUND THEN
            -- Grant read-only access to the schema for the read-only group
            RAISE NOTICE 'Granting read-only access to schema: %', schemata;
            EXECUTE format('GRANT USAGE ON SCHEMA %I TO %I', schemata, READONLY_GROUP);
            EXECUTE format('GRANT SELECT ON ALL TABLES IN SCHEMA %I TO %I', schemata, READONLY_GROUP);
            EXECUTE format('GRANT EXECUTE ON ALL FUNCTIONS IN SCHEMA %I TO %I', schemata, READONLY_GROUP);
        ELSE
            RAISE NOTICE 'Read-only access already granted to schema: %', schemata;
        END IF;
    END LOOP;
END;
$$ LANGUAGE plpgsql;
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Function 2:

This function will enable users to refresh read_only permissions, so they don’t have to rely on DevOps

CREATE OR REPLACE FUNCTION grant_readonly_access(schematabe text DEFAULT NULL)
RETURNS void
SECURITY DEFINER
AS $$
DECLARE
  READONLY_GROUP text := 'readonly';
BEGIN
  IF schematabe IS NOT NULL THEN
    -- Grant read-only access to specified schema for the user and read-only group
    PERFORM 1 FROM information_schema.schemata WHERE schema_name = schematabe;
    IF FOUND THEN
      RAISE NOTICE 'Granting read-only access to schema: % for user: %', schematabe, READONLY_GROUP;
      EXECUTE format('GRANT USAGE ON SCHEMA %I TO %I', schematabe, readonly_group);
      EXECUTE format('GRANT SELECT ON ALL TABLES IN SCHEMA %I TO %I', schematabe, readonly_group);
      EXECUTE format('GRANT EXECUTE ON ALL FUNCTIONS IN SCHEMA %I TO %I', schematabe, readonly_group);
      EXECUTE format('GRANT USAGE ON SCHEMA %I TO %I', schematabe, READONLY_GROUP);
      EXECUTE format('GRANT SELECT ON ALL TABLES IN SCHEMA %I TO %I', schematabe, READONLY_GROUP);
      EXECUTE format('GRANT EXECUTE ON ALL FUNCTIONS IN SCHEMA %I TO %I', schematabe, READONLY_GROUP);
    ELSE
      RAISE EXCEPTION 'Schema not found: %', schematabe;
    END IF;
  ELSE
    -- Grant read-only access to all schemas for the user and read-only group
    FOR schematabe IN SELECT schema_name FROM information_schema.schemata WHERE schema_name NOT LIKE 'pg_%' AND schema_name != 'information_schema' LOOP
      -- Check if the read-only group already has access to the schema
      PERFORM 1 FROM information_schema.role_table_grants WHERE grantee = readonly_group AND table_schema = schematabe;
      IF NOT FOUND THEN
        -- Grant read-only access to the schema for the read-only group
        RAISE NOTICE 'Granting read-only access to schema: % for user: %', schematabe, READONLY_GROUP;
        EXECUTE format('GRANT USAGE ON SCHEMA %I TO %I', schematabe, readonly_group);
        EXECUTE format('GRANT SELECT ON ALL TABLES IN SCHEMA %I TO %I', schematabe, readonly_group);
        EXECUTE format('GRANT EXECUTE ON ALL FUNCTIONS IN SCHEMA %I TO %I', schematabe, readonly_group);
        EXECUTE format('GRANT USAGE ON SCHEMA %I TO %I', schematabe, READONLY_GROUP);
        EXECUTE format('GRANT SELECT ON ALL TABLES IN SCHEMA %I TO %I', schematabe, READONLY_GROUP);
        EXECUTE format('GRANT EXECUTE ON ALL FUNCTIONS IN SCHEMA %I TO %I', schematabe, READONLY_GROUP);
      ELSE
        RAISE NOTICE 'Read-only access already granted to schema: % for user: %', schematabe, READONLY_GROUP;
      END IF;
    END LOOP;
  END IF;
END;
$$ LANGUAGE plpgsql;
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
tshrinivasan profile image
Shrinivasan T

Thanks for the good solution.