DEV Community

Cover image for Chef'sCamp - My introduction to WebDev
Ankit Raj
Ankit Raj

Posted on

Chef'sCamp - My introduction to WebDev

Hello everyone!

Today I will be talking about my first experience in WebDev. So it started with me qualifying for the second round after the coding round. This round was Web Development round. We were supposed to deliver a SPA or Single page application using ReactJs and Slim-a Php framework within 10 days.

Challenges 😵

I had gone through the React documentation previously and React was not that of challenge in this round. The challenge was Php and overall I had never worked on back-end before. I had few insights of how it works but it was not clear.

Contest started 🏃

The first 3-4 days were real tough. I had no idea on how to get started. Also I was searching for React-Php boiler plate everywhere. But turns out this was not required at all. I was very confused on how to connect React to the Php.
But turns out things were not that difficult but I was making them. Now after this hassle, I got the hang around how are things working.
Like I don't really have to worry about how react will connect to php. I didn't need a boilerplate.

Development started 🌊

I started by writing APIs and auth logic in Slim. This was fairly easy.
I forgot to mention about implementing oAuth2.0 which was a disaster because I lost a significant time figuring out how to implement it.
I got a big relief after completing back-end part.
But the party was not over yet, with 3 days remaining. I started writing components on React. This took quite a while. I made a mistake of not using Material UI and writing inline CSS for each component which took significant time in implementing DarkMode later.
Implementing Markdown with MathJax was a bit complicated for which I took help from Rendering Markdown and LaTeX in React.

Deployment 🌀

I deployed it on Azure cloud. You can visit it here - ChefsCamp.

Next

I am very happy that I was able to complete the project on time. This was by far the best learning experience I ever had. I also qualified for the next round. 😁
After that I have implemented hybrid caching for faster response time. I have perfected the DarkMode and planning for implementing a fairly new feature.

I would really appreciate your thought on the application. 🙏

Thank you for reading

Peace ☮️

Top comments (0)