DEV Community

Anna-Green
Anna-Green

Posted on

The Wide World of an entry-level developer

Hello, my name is Anna, I am from New Zealand and I am starting out as a junior, full-stack web developer.
Before the Covid pandemic, I was a makeup artist and once all the productions were closed and we went into a month-long lockdown with no income, I knew I needed a stable career change.

My sister's friend did a web developer course that only lasted a couple of months which allowed her to find a job that she loves. She recommended the course and within a couple of weeks, I was enrolled in Dev Academy. A course that teaches you how to be a full-stack web developer in 15 weeks.

We learned about:

  • HTML 5
  • CSS
  • JavaScript
  • React
  • Redux
  • API's
  • Databases
  • Testing

I will be honest, the course was physically, emotionally, and mentally challenging. I spent most days there, had to overcome my inner critic and work with people that I didn't necessarily bond with.

All in all, I'm excited to start my career as a web developer and I will be posting my journey here!

Until next time, Anna

Top comments (0)