DEV Community

Anna-Green
Anna-Green

Posted on

My least favourite part...Job Hunting

So the 'fun' part of graduating is looking for jobs. Don't get me wrong, I'm excited to start my career, I just wish it wasn't so anxiety-inducing.

My days begin trawling websites like TradeMe Jobs, Seek, LinkedIn Jobs, and Facebook for any local full-stack web developer jobs. I have a pretty loose strategy for how I plan to apply for any jobs that I am compatible with and that's called "The Shotgun Method". This means I'm going to apply for a bunch of jobs, write a whole lot of cover letters, and hope to hear back from someone I'm interested in working with. Is it a tried and true method? absolutely not. Am I still crossing all my fingers and toes and hoping it works? you betcha!

Unfortunately, I graduated about a week and a half before Christmas which means I can apply, apply, apply but I probably won't hear from anyone until they're back from holiday (which usually finishes around 11th Jan). That means I have at least 2 weeks in which to overthink and fret about having a job for 2021.

Watch this space to see if "The Shotgun Method" actually worked and also cross your fingers for me!

Top comments (0)