DEV Community

Cover image for Making the Switch...
AnthonyH00
AnthonyH00

Posted on

Making the Switch...

At the start of my tech career, if you would have told me I'll be in a coding bootcamp in a few years, I would have thought you were crazy. Why? I believed it was extremely out of reach.
Most colleagues, friends, and professionals I know that changed careers in IT, have switched from Software Engineering to Network Engineering. Usually citing plainness, and tediousness of coding as the main reasons for their decision.
I started my career working in Helpdesk support. As the company was small, after a short time, I touched all levels of Networking, from installing apps, to using heat maps, and setting up Networks from the bottom up. I enjoyed the challenge of building out a network from scratch. More than that, when it aligned with what the client needs were(I'm looking at you, bandwidth), that generally made me happy. Image descriptionSource:https://community.fs.com/blog/tcpip-vs-osi-whats-the-difference-between-the-two-models.html

After working in Helpdesk for a few years, I moved into more of a hybrid role, splitting onsite, remote, and managerial work. From here on, I worked with various departments, assisting with NOC, Escalation, and the Solution teams. I think this is where I became interested in programming. It was the only department I didn't directly work with, but collaborated a few times and my interest was piqued.
I also learned a valuable lesson during this period. Why I enjoyed Networking, had nothing to do with Networking, and more so, who I was as a person. As the company grew, I realized the values I held, were no longer applicable.Image description
I did a few free coding courses, (CodeAcademy, Solo learn, among others..) but was very hesitant about taking it a step further. I was comfortable, complacent, and it wasn't a decision I could just make on a whim.
The longer I fretted over this, the unhappier I was. So...I just moved. Once I made that decision, a weight was lifted off my shoulders, and out my pockets, but I was satisfied with my decision.
After a few months into the bootcamp, I believe I made the right decision. Although, this is not easy, by any means, I am moving forward, learning new things everyday. I do agree, some of what I've learned has been tedious as it's been daunting, though this has been the most creative freedom I've had in a long time.

Cover Source:https://www.nytimes.com/2020/07/01/technology/personaltech/make-your-tech-last-longer.html

Top comments (0)