DEV Community

anshul137
anshul137

Posted on

DPS909 Blog :LAB 5 Refactoring

Overview

  • Refactoring of my ssg.
  • Using git rebase to rewrite history on a branch.
  • Using git commit --amend to add things to a previous commit and update a commit message.
  • using git merge

What is Code Refactoring?

Refactoring is one of the most important skills for developers. It is the process of restructing the existing code without changing its functionality of the application.

Why Refactoring is important?

  • As a software developer we need to make sure our application is always up-to date with the current dependencies and the latest syntax.
  • It helps us maintain our application and make it extensible and easy for our readers to understand our code.
  • It helps us fix the codes, methods, or classes that are so enlarged.
  • It helps us fix areas in code that do not require repeated code.
  • It helps us to remove any code that is unnecessary and removing it won’t be detrimental to the overall functionality of the application.

Rebasing and Squashing

After Refactoring all of my code I have 5 commits in my application.
Before merging my work, i squashed everything in one single commit.
Furthermore, I have amended my commits and successfully merged it to the main branch.

Links

Top comments (0)