DEV Community

Cover image for Thank you 2023, onwards to 2024
Anuradha
Anuradha

Posted on • Updated on • Originally published at anuradhakumari.com

Thank you 2023, onwards to 2024

Hi everyone, I hope you all had a wonderful start to the new year 2024. I postponed writing this article till after the 1st Jan as I did not feel in my writing zone last year at all, but I did want to write up a review as I did for 2022.

So 2023, well... here's to the year that 2023 has been 😇

Gratitude

If I were to define 2023 using just one word, it would be gratitude.

2023 was a different kind of year, like a pendulum with lots of highs and lows but it ended in a positive tone. Yes, I struggled and I felt like a loser at some point. But also, I fought back this feeling, I read books, talked to friends and family, and tried my best.

And while I felt like I did not accomplish much in 2023, now when I look back, I see lots of things that are wins for my priorities in life, and I feel grateful and proud of myself, as well as thankful for everyone who made my 2023 so beautiful.

2023 theme

So, I started 2023 with one theme - Going above and beyond.

I wanted like to explore more of my potential, see what I am capable of, and how far I can go while living life to its fullest.

Family and Friends

I went to India and met my family for the first time after I relocated to the Netherlands (after around 1.5 years). It was a lovely trip.

And, in the last quarter of the year, my family visited me in the Netherlands and we spent an amazing 2 months exploring the country as well as Europe at large.

These were the times that fueled me with positivity, courage, and a profound sense of fulfillment and gratitude.

Manifesting more of such times in 2024.

Also, I feel blessed to have such lovely and supportive friends, you all are just the best.

Health

This has been an ongoing challenge that I'm actively addressing. I must acknowledge my inconsistency with exercise, and I need to admit this as part of my accountability. I did try to pay more attention to the pattern of my health and understand it more closely.

I am grateful for the fact that I am more aware of my health triggers, and the side effects, and I am trying to take precautions as much as I can. As a result, I have felt better in the last two months.

In 2024, I am putting more focus on being healthy and being consistent.

Career

I changed my job in November and joined Vodafoneziggo, and this has been one of the major things I am grateful for in 2023. My priority was to work in an inclusive, positive work environment, where everyone is treated with respect and it checks all the right boxes.

Working with a focus on accessibility was also one of the important factors, and I am looking forward to exploring and contributing to that regard.

In 2024, I am looking forward to learning, growing, and working on challenging tasks in this new role.

Speaking at events

I slowed down a bit on in-person conferences in 2023 because of multiple reasons. And I wanted to go beyond conferences this year, so I went ahead to deliver workshops.

By the end of the year, I:

I am thankful for all these opportunities and experiences, for the new friends and connections I made as part of these events, and for all the things I learned from other talks at the conferences.

In 2024, I am looking forward to

  • more in-person conferences,
  • speaking at online events
  • continue with more workshops
  • publishing YouTube videos again

Travel

I wanted to travel more, and what a terrific year 2023 has been for traveling, specifically also because I traveled quite a lot with my family, and that feels like another level of happiness and accomplishment.

Some travel stats:

  • 10 countries 🇳🇱🇩🇪🇧🇪🇮🇳🇫🇷🇨🇭🇦🇹🇨🇿🇧🇬🇬🇧
  • at least 35 cities (I am sure I am missing some while counting)

Top 3 highlights:

In 2024, more travel memories and stories (All my travel stories are shared on Instagram)

Reading

I was not consistent with reading books in 2023. By the end of the year, I read 19 books.

In 2024, I aim to be more consistent at reading. The number of books read does not matter much to me but I aim to read around 30 minutes for at least 5 days a week. For Goodreads, where I track my progress, I did put a target number of 30 books.

Writing

As I write this review, I am now seeing a pattern, there are certain months where I was not consistent with reading books, and those are the same months I was not consistent with journaling too, and it's a lost opportunity because I was struggling during some of those times, and it would have helped me recall more and better.

As a win, I did start journaling consistently towards the end of the year, and I also added a new habit to it - writing one thing I am grateful for every day.

In 2024, I am being more mindful about journaling every day and adding one thing I am grateful for each day (I would suggest you try this if you want).

In 2023, I did not publish any blogs, apart from the 2022 review one. I have 3 blogs in draft state. In 2024, I am going to focus again on writing.

Thank You 2023

I am grateful for the ways I kept showing up for myself, even if it felt hard at the moment.

I am grateful for everything that 2023 taught me, and for all the beautiful experiences I had.

I am grateful for the love and support I received, and the growth I experienced within myself.

I am grateful to have lived in 2023 ❤️.

Hello 2024

I am going through this new year slowly and steadily. The theme of this year will be: Healthy and Happy

Let's live 2024 to the fullest.


My biggest wish for this year is for a peaceful world. I wish you all a very happy, healthy, and fulfilling new year.

Also, I would love to read your year-end reviews or recaps, celebrate your 2023, and hype you up for 2024 and beyond. So do share with me in the comments.

Onwards!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
lauragift21 profile image
Gift Egwuenu

Congrats, Anu! It's amazing to see how you've beaten the odds and come out stronger. I'm so happy to see your progress and can't wait to see all the awesome things you'll do this year! Keep it up!

Collapse
 
anuradhakumari profile image
Anuradha

Thank you Gift, you are amazing and I am grateful to have you as my friend. Thanks for all your support and I am looking forward to celebrating all your wins too ❤️