DEV Community

a-parris21
a-parris21

Posted on

Progress on Release 0.1

Hello!

This week I got started on Release 0.1, though I've run into a lot of bugs so far, it's been very engaging trying to build my own SSG tool.

I worked with my partner (anshul137) to improve the code in both SSG tools. We've known each other from previous classes and discussed this project via Slack.

Reviewing Anshul's SSG tool was relatively easy — his logic was straightforward and not difficult to understand. I did find a few issues in his code but not very many as of this post.

Anshul reviewed my SSG tool and found some issues that I wasn't aware of initially (such as the /dist folder not being created) as well as some minor errors I had overlooked.

The issues I filed:

minor errors in README.md file - There were some minor spelling, formatting and information errors in the README.md file.

Help message from CLI --help flag is minimalistic - Help message generated by the CLI --help flag looks like a placeholder help message. It does not yet provide any intuitive information about the tool.

Attempting to run npm link gives an error - The instructions stated to run the npm link command before using the tool but this generated an error.

Version number in package.json is an invalid number - The version number listed in the package.json file for the app was not in a valid format.

Error when attempting to use --input flag - Attempting to use the --input flag generated an error when the program attempted to delete the old /dist folder. A function invoked by the code is not recognized.

The issues my partner filed:

README.md file missing - I was working on the 'test' branch of my repos and did not switch back to the 'main' branch in order to push the updated README.md file there. It has now been pushed to the 'main' branch though it is not yet fully completed.

Output files are missing - My program currently does not generate output .html files as intended. Currently working to resolve this.

/dist folder is not created - The /dist folder is not created when the program executes. Currently looking into this.

2 optional implementations are missing - The optional implementation features for the code were missing. They have been added to the program and also to the README.md file.

--version CLI flag not function correctly - The name of the tool prints to the console when Anshul tests the app but the version number either does not appear or has the wrong value.

Anshul was able to fix most of his issues thus far.
I am currently working to resolve issues #2 and #3 in my code.

Top comments (0)