DEV Community

AppForce1: News and info for iOS app developers

Alexei and me at the Enginears podcast

Hear my totally business voice. Alexei and me representing the Stream team. I really liked how it turned out. It is a bit of an oddball episode compared to my regular ones. But I think a lot of fun nonetheless.

https://enginears.io/podcast/

Stream are the #1 chat API for custom messaging apps and started off building activity feeds and slowly started introducing chat messaging API’s which feeds large-volumes of their traffic. Jeroen and Alexei took us on a journey to understand some of the challenges around latency, scalability and mobile performance.

A great discussion which feeds into end-to-end challenges of the platform and why they are critical to one another, especially in an API first product.

  • We discuss vertical v horizontal scaling through different API/chat activities.
  • Building 3 SDK’s for mobile and importance of CX.

Please rate me on Apple Podcasts.

Send me feedback on SpeakPipe
Or contact me through twitter

Newsletter, sign up!

My book: Being a Lead Software Developer

Runway
Put your mobile releases on autopilot and keep the whole team in sync throughout.

Lead Software Developer 
Learn best practices for being a great lead software developer.

Support the show

Episode source