DEV Community

Areahints
Areahints

Posted on

Dev notifications and Telegram group

So I noticed something, my notifications aren't chronological. I only ever check the greyed top of my notifications because I believe those are the ones I have missed or are new.

My first notification says 1 minute, then the next is 7 days ago

You can then see it switch back to 2 minutes. I scrolled to the bottom and it seems like this for most of my notifications.

Also I thought the Telegram group would share all the posts made on the main website? I regularly check the channels and this doesn't seem to be the case.

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

I'm not sure about the Telegram group because that's not an official channel of communication, so it must be some other user managing it.

Notifications are ordered by the time the notification has been "created", the time you're seeing though is the time the post/comment/reaction was published.

Due to the nature of asynchronicity notifications might not be strictly ordered correctly.

There's also an open bug on the displayed "time ago": github.com/thepracticaldev/dev.to/...

You might have encountered another one but I'm not sure

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
Collapse
 
areahints profile image
Areahints

Thanks for clearing it up, it just felt weird having different timestamps follow each other. I also had no idea about the GitHub issue tracker. As for the Telegram group, I'll try reaching out to the admins

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.