DEV Community

Cover image for How my coding journey began
Arthur
Arthur

Posted on • Updated on

How my coding journey began

Background story:
In the middle of 2022 it all started with a conversation with a friend and somehow we started talking about 'Tech' and 'Coding'. I thought to myself "What is coding?".

On that same night I began to watch Youtube videos that were related to code and "A day in a life of a Software Engineer" kind of videos. By this time I was hooked, and it was only a Monday (and btw I had an exam the next day but couldn't get my mind off code!). As I looked into the vast IT career paths that were standing before me, one caught my eye... Software development. I quickly picked up free resources like FreeCodeCamp and The Odin Project and instantly loved it. I turned my Windows 10 OS on my laptop to Ubuntu and thought I was hacking but really all I did was change directories and made new folders... but it was cool! From here, the snowball effect began to gain momentum.

After having a crack at a few tech companies (4 months in to my coding journey), getting interviewed and being rejected, I was more motivated than ever as these experiences were like a sign to me that I was getting closer to where I wanted to be in the future (It really does sound counterintuitive).

Now, I have set my eyes on a software engineering role by the end of 2023 and would want to document my journey from here on.

If you're reading this, I would like to thank you for your time in doing so!

Also, if you're on a similar journey as I am, please don't stop! Passion trumps anything else!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
prsaya profile image
Prasad Saya

The coding journey can be an unending and ever changing one. I write computer programs too.