DEV Community

Ashlinn Brennan
Ashlinn Brennan

Posted on

Nevertheless, Ashlinn Coded

I began coding because...

I loved the problem solving and analytical skills, but also the creativity needed to create a program or web application. Although my path into the web development field was somewhat unconventional and purely accidental, I have fallen madly, deeply in love with coding. Few things in life provide me with as much joy as solving a particularly annoying bug.

I'm currently hacking on...

Currently, I only have enough focus for one project and that is what I am working on at work. We're building this marketplace site for teachers and other educators to share their lesson plans and resources with other teachers across the country. As someone passionate about education, I absolutely love working on this site and adding new features.

I'm excited about...

Seeing so many women, especially women of color, getting involved in coding. We need to keep lifting each other up and encouraging our peers to keep going and to never give up.

On another note, I am also super psyched about the rapidly changing web development landscape. Things are constantly changing which means there is always something new to learn and that's just so awesome.

My advice for other women who code is...

Never give up. Lift other women up. Don't be afraid to ask for help. Sometimes in fear of being perceived as a weak developer, I am afraid to ask questions or for help. There is nothing wrong with asking for help. If you feel alone in your field, go to Women in Tech or Women Who Code meetups. There's nothing like being surrounded by other people who get it. Be proud of yourself and don't be afraid to share your accomplishments.

Top comments (0)