DEV Community

Ashton Scott Snapp
Ashton Scott Snapp

Posted on

Getting into Rust, any tips or recommendations?

Hello. I've been trying to learn Rust for a while but there are some bits I still don't understand. I'm most familiar with Python as it is the first programming language I have learned. Any tips for me as I dive back into Rust?

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
rimutaka profile image
Max • Edited

Don't spend too much time in Rust Book. If something doesn't make sense there - it's not you. That book has problems. Look at the Reference and By Example at the same time. I also search GitHub for examples that include the exact keywords I need when none of the above are of any help.

Read about Patterns in the reference before diving into match/if let.

Get a faster computer or build a dev server in the cloud - builds take time and it adds up.
I use EC2 for it (dev.to/rimutaka/faster-rust-develo...)

Collapse
 
ashtonsnapp profile image
Ashton Scott Snapp

Computer is pretty fast - i7-7700HQ, takes a few seconds to build my current project. But, if it ever gets too slow I'll take a look at a dev server.