DEV Community

Cover image for Firefox DE...we're back together!...for a weird reason
Aubrey Portwood
Aubrey Portwood

Posted on

Firefox DE...we're back together!...for a weird reason

First off, I have never liked using Google Chrome for development. The only reason I DEV in it is because it's a popular browser. That's it...

Recently I have had a bit of a paradigm shift in how I manage windows and tabs on my Mac. I use spaces now. I am preferring windows over tabs (but not spaces over tabs, that's evil, and wrong)...

All this to say that one little annoyance, related to this, has me switching back to Firefox DE (Developer Edition) for my development browser.

You remember when I said I preferred windows over tabs? Well, let's say I have a Chrome window on Space A doing Work X... and I have one on Space B doing Work Y...and I need to open a link on Space C to do Work Z... Well, if I click that link I get a new tab on random Space X, Y, or Z (probably the last window I used).

That's not what I want. I've tried every hack to make sure a new link opens a new window on Space C (my current space) in Chrome, but, like Google does, there just isn't a reasonable way.

To my surprise, Firefox DE (and Firefox itself) on MacOS follows the behavior I have setup on Mac.

Prefer tabs never in MacOS

This setting should dictate everything. Most apps follow the rules here, not Google Chrome. But, like I said, FFDE seems to like to follow the rules I set on my own computer.

Top comments (0)