DEV Community

Shiri Seike for AWS Community Builders

Posted on

I became a Serverless AWS Community Builder, but this was just the beginning of my journey.

This is the article for the 24th day of the AWS Community Builders Advent Calendar 2023.

Becoming an AWS Community Builder in Serverless

This year, I achieved the significant milestone of becoming an AWS Community Builder, specializing in Serverless.

This achievement is the result of my continuous contributions to events such as ServerlessDays Tokyo, ServerlessDays Fukuoka, JAWS Days, and AWS Dev Day, all focused on Serverless technology. There was definitely a sense of joy in being recognized, even if it was just a little.

Perhaps this recognition has only slightly increased my motivation to produce more output.

However, my world expanded when I attended AWS Re:invent 2023 and combined it with becoming an AWS Community Builder.

AWS Re:invent 2023

As an AWS Community Builder, I attended AWS Re:invent 2023 for the first time. It was my second time at AWS Re:invent, and I returned seeking the same impact I felt during my first visit. Being an AWS Community Builder opened up opportunities for interaction that I was previously unaware of. Although I am Japanese, I prioritized content that emphasized local experiences to enhance communication. For instance, I participated in every available GameDay and volunteered within the AWS community.

The World Changes with Community

Conversing with passionate individuals in the community and interacting with members during GameDay ignited an even stronger desire within me to be more involved in the community. Additionally, feeling frustrated about my inability to communicate in English gave me energy to broaden my world further. I have spent a considerable amount of time on Serverless and wanted to share this with everyone. However, not being proficient in English was a barrier. I regretted the wasted opportunity to converse with such passionate, knowledgeable people. What a loss of opportunity to not be able to discuss with people so passionate and knowledgeable.
I must become more involved in the community.
I have become an AWS Community Builder. It is a global program, and therefore, global communication is necessary. I understand Serverless in the context of AWS. Therefore, as a means of communication, I want to gradually shift my output to a global scale. The community exists there. There's no reason not to do it, let's think of ways to do it. Since I have the opportunity to make global contributions here, I plan to write about my Serverless-related output. And next year, I want to be able to discuss with everyone, about Serverless.
Today's text is a declaration of intent, nothing more than a poem.
From next time, I plan to post more technical articles.

My Journey Has Just Begun

Becoming an AWS Community Builder is just a starting point. I need to increase my output even more, to change the world. I am grateful for both the title and the opportunity to realize this. I must continue my efforts. Let's change the world, for the advancement of technology.
I became a Serverless AWS Community Builder, but this was just the beginning of my journey.

Top comments (0)