DEV Community

Ayomide Onibokun
Ayomide Onibokun

Posted on

My journey to becoming a developer

First, let me introduce myself. My name is Ayomide Onibokun, and I’m a fullstack web developer, a software engineer with 5 years experience and a student of Oduduwa University Ipetumodu studying B.Eng Computer Engineering. In that time, I’ve worked as a trainer at xhub and also started a WordPress community in college and also a mentor at Repotecc.

I have always had this deep interest in tech from a young age, but faced the major limitation any individual hoping to set out in any career path faces, "Ideas and information on how to begin". I stumbled on a post from Fossbytes (Fossbytes is a tech blog), this post was an invitation to learning computer science online, one I had cravee for. I made use of the period before i gained admission into tertiary instituion to Learn this online course. This marked the beginning of my Journey as a developer.
Fueled by my Long desire to Journey into tech, I immediately made use of the links included in the post from fossybytes, which were links to site with contents to help meonmy new jorney as a developer. They included sites like Code.org (a site that teaches beginners programming in logic sequence, i was able to create a game), Khan academy (where I learnt about python), finally I then proceeded to YouTube in search about python and was captivated by a video "zero to hero with python". It spured my interest in python because it educated me about what python can do and current companies that uses it and that was my sight of motivation. Having gotten the required information, it was time to set goals. I decided to set a goal of learning how to build a website so I went on to search some YouTube video about html and css and one series I enjoyed was with a YouTuber named Bucky Robert. I was then admitted into college at Oduduwa University Ipetumodu having practiced enough.
My First real Challenge came when i was tasked with the responsibility of building a website For my Fellowship.This was when I was introduced to bootstrap ( Thanks to Ajayi Kayode who put me through), which is necessary due to its lightweight and easy customization. I also had to learn php for the back-end and wordpress theme development as it enables easy site management.
During my holiday, I advanced in my journey by Learning Java and andriod studio. I also lerned pygame with python and built some 2d games and then progressed to tkinter, pyqt, and kivy for building software i built a media player, browser and a texting app. Returning back to school we were taught Visual Basic 6.0, and It got much more interesting as I was now empowered to build desktop app easier and my first project was a hotel management system. I then proceeded to build software for a supermarket, pharmaceutical, a school receipt check clearance etc. lnspired by movies Like "Knight Rider, Iron man", I developed interest in Artificial Intelligence, and So I went in search of Knowledge. I thus learnt Machine learning With python which seams to be interesting.
I Have acquired skills in web and software development, machine learning, animation with after effects and started exploring and all were self taught and still wish to learn more but I what I want to advice the young generation is that you can be anything you want to be “If you can imagine it, you can achieve it. If you can dream it, you can become it.” By William Arthur Ward and always surround yourself with people having the same ambition with you, be resourcesful and determined. Attend seminars and try to utilize your social media as a source of learning new things and trends in tech by following people related to your ambition Thanks.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
willdera profile image
Godswill

👏👏👏👏👏👏