DEV Community

bajubullet
bajubullet

Posted on

I like the new ios 15 safari

The new ios 15 safari UI seems to be very controversial, the majority of videos on youtube suggest changing it back to older view. They seem to like the way things are and want to stick with them.
I on the other hand love the new UI. I don't care so much about the way it looks and yes there is a learning curve to it. But the additional swipe functionality is definitely worth it.

  • Swipe left/right to switch between tabs.
  • Swipe up to go to your open tabs.

Using this swipe gestures feels great. Plus to get the added convenience of a reachable address bar which is great. I have a iphone 11 and average sized fingers and I had to mostly resort to the reachability swipe down shortcut to edit the address bar if i am using a single hand which to be frank is most of the time.
I still think there is a lot that Apple can do to improve safari like adding better PWA support, supporting new APIs so websites look nicer but as far as the new address bar location is concerned, I am very happy with it and feel that its an improvement.

Top comments (0)