DEV Community

Cover image for Bas' Take on Tech: Edge Computing, Digital Markets Act, Job Data
Bas Steins
Bas Steins

Posted on • Originally published at open.substack.com

Bas' Take on Tech: Edge Computing, Digital Markets Act, Job Data

📊 Sneak Preview: Job data

I had a couple of follow-up coffee chats with people I talked to back in 2022. The conversations were very insightful again.

However, the perception of the current economic situation was surprisingly different for each person I’ve talked to.

So, I decided to have a look at some data. I started analyzing the job postings on Hacker News and collected other economic data from different sources.

Image description

I’m still not done with the analysis, but here are some preliminary findings:

  • The oft-cited story of overhiring during Covid and the subsequent job cuts is supported by the data
  • The situation appears to have stabilized since the second half of 2023, albeit at a low level

In other news, Walmart’s Ibotta IPO’d with a rise of 17% on the first day.

Expect a more detailed analysis of the job data in one of the next newsletter issues.

Read more

Top comments (0)