DEV Community

Bastion Fennell
Bastion Fennell

Posted on

I'm Bastion Fennell, and I support women devs.

I will advocate for gender equality by...

Pushing for better and more inclusive interview strategies

Fostering a workplace culture that is more accepting of different communication and programming styles

Being an active part of my local community and seek out opportunities to help women in tech

Assuming the women I meet at conferences are developers

I hope to see my school/work/developer/tech community...

Become less focused on combative approaches to programming

Be more supportive of junior developers

Branch out from just bringing pizza and beer to meetups

My advice for fellow allies is...

l i s t e n
With both ears
All the time

The issues that underrepresented groups deal with every day are largely invisible because we've internalized the behaviors associated with them.

Systemic issues are all around you, we need to be an active part of finding these issues AND solving them. No more expecting everyone else to come to us with problems and solutions. They don't deserve that extra emotional labor on top of the biases fighting against them.

If you have a platform of privilege, it is your duty to help those that don't. Being an ally can mean just being supportive, but it can also mean so much more.

Let's try to help ease the emotional burden of finding problems, dealing with problems, and proposing solutions to problems.

As long as we listen to the people most affected by these issues, we can do our part to help solve them.

Top comments (0)