DEV Community

Bianca Charlotin
Bianca Charlotin

Posted on • Updated on

Anime CLI Project

This blog post will be discussing the rollercoaster I was on while completing my first flatiron coding project. It will go into detail on the project I created and the difficulties I encountered.

When it came to the ideation of this project, I wanted to create a personal aspect that would keep me motivated throughout the process. Since I'm an avid watcher of Anime shows so I decided to use an Anime API, specifically, the one by Jikan. From this API. I created a command-line interface(CLI) that acted as a library and would provide the user information for a particular anime.

After entering the name of the anime you wanted to know about, displayed in the terminal would be basic information, like title, id, and a synopsis of the show. Then the user would be prompted and asked if they would like more information, if so, the user would be provided with further details on the show like when it started and when it ended. Lastly, the user would have the option to look at a recommended list of shows based on the anime they searched for.

Surprisingly, the most difficult part of this project was getting started. Writing the pseudo-code for how this project would interact/work, and understanding the relationships the 3 classes would have was challenging. This is because typically we would have a spec file that would let us know what was going wrong and if we passed the test. This time around we had to check every step of the way that everything we were returning was accurate.

Snippet of the pseudo-code:

"CLI class" gets an input -> calls on the "API class" and sends it off a request to get information -> "API class" calls on the anime class to create a new object -> that new object is what the "CLI Class" will use /output/do something to

Link to my Github CLI Project: https://github.com/Bcharlotin1/anime_cli_project

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
taikedz profile image
Tai Kedzierski

I'm a command line junkie. And an avid anime watcher and manga reader. Your title piqued my curiosity.

You might want to consider not getting too class-happy - your project sounds much simpler than that!

But I look forward to seeing where this goes - good luck, and happy learning!

Collapse
 
epsi profile image
E.R. Nurwijayadi

No picture? No code? No diagram? No input? No output? Not even formatted as markdown?

What exactly are you talking about 🤔?