DEV Community

you can do whatever you put your heart and mind to
you can do whatever you put your heart and mind to

Posted on • Updated on

Upgrading to Windows 10 Pro

It's an era for work from home. The problem is that some of us are not really prepared for this. Yes, we have our own laptops or PC at home but they are all not updated.

I have a laptop with an OS running at Windows 7 and I need to upgrade it to Windows 10 Pro.

Luckily, Windows 10 upgrade are now free! Yes, Microsoft provide it free.

Here's the Link
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10

You can download it at two ways,

  1. By directly downloading the ISO and execute the upgrade at your PC/Laptop
  2. By saving the ISO to USB, if ever you'll install it to different PC. Choosing this will able to transform your USB into bootable.

I am able to upgrade both my Windows 7 and Windows XP to Windows 10 Pro. But there's a catch, what will happen to the drivers?

Since my laptop is the old but gold Dell Inspiron N4050, it really not suited for Windows 10 Pro but luckily again, it works with Windows 10 Pro.

But I had one problem, after upgrading the display at my laptop screen resolution seems zoomed out and I can't lessen the brightness. Upon checking at Device Manager, I saw that both of my display drivers are Windows Basic Display Adapter.

To fix this issue, I went to Dell support website to download the Display driver. (https://www.dell.com/support/home/en-ph/product-support/product/inspiron-14-intel-n4050/drivers)

I chose the Intel(R)HD Graphics 3000 and after installing, my display and screen resolution are now all good as well as the brightness.

Hope this helps someone who encountered this issue!

Follow Me: https://twitter.com/beacreativedev

Top comments (0)