DEV Community

BeccaAnderton18
BeccaAnderton18

Posted on

Nevertheless, Becca Coded

I began/continue to code because...

I had to! During my degree in photography we were tasked with creating a portfolio site for our work and I was hooked from there. I went on to intern for a local startup company after graduating to build up my skill set, until a few months later when I went on get my first job as a designer within a small agency.

Since then I've worked in a variety of different roles including on an internal web team for a large insurance company and now I'm currently working as a frontend dev for a rapidly growing agency in the North of England.

I continue to code simply because I love it and I find immense satisfaction in solving a problem you've been stuck on for a while.

I'm an expert at...

Nothing! But that isn't stopping me from learning and trying to grow and improve as a developer. I focus primarily on JavaScript developer, from smaller, simpler projects to larger more complex systems like SPA's. More recently I've been dabbling with PHP trying to boost my knowledge of backend systems.

I'm currently hacking on...

Internally I've been working on developing a frontend CLI tool and linters to improve our workflow and helping the others on the frontend team grow together.

My advice for other women and non-binary folks who code is...

Keep at it! It's daunting being the minority in this industry and it took me a couple of years to get used to and adjust to it before I felt I could start to thrive. Because of this it's all the more important to take the time to encourage and celebrate each other within the industry and build each other up to be the best that we can be.

Top comments (0)