DEV Community

Cover image for Learn to code with me - why I am learning how to code
Bronwen Gien
Bronwen Gien

Posted on • Updated on

Learn to code with me - why I am learning how to code

I have started and failed at the #100daysofcode challenge more times than I care to count on my coding journey, and the reason why I am learning code is likely different from yours, specifically if this is the first time you have thought about doing it. If you are on the fence about starting your coding journey or, like me, you have tried and failed a couple of times and are looking for a deeper motivation to make this time different, you are in the right place.

  • General Reasons to learn coding
  • Don’t learn for the money
  • Why I am learning to code
  • What code am I planning to learn
  • How long is it going to take for me to learn to code
  • Conclusion

General Reasons to learn coding

I will not touch on this in too much detail as you can quickly do a Google search on the reasons to learn code or you can read my article on 6 reasons why you should learn to code.

Programming and code are fundamentally logical processes, having the ability to code aids your critical thinking ability, which makes you a more effective problem solver, and employers are always looking out for people with this skill!

Don’t learn for the money

The more obvious reason many people want to learn to code is the possible salaries that can be earned. Now I will admit that these salary figures are enticing and you may think a great salary is reason enough to stay motivated and start your coding journey. Wrong!

I was one of those people trying to learn a new skill mainly for the financial rewards it could offer, and with that mindset, I didn’t even make it past day 20 of the #100daysofcding challenge.

If you think, “I’ll be different, I am a dedicated person with willpower”. I can guarantee you I thought the same, but here is the problem. The reality is that learning a new skill is difficult, specifically when you are going through the process on your own and not part of a coding Bootcamp or coding community. Who do you ask all the questions to when you get stuck? Yes, you can easily Google your problem or error message, but are you advanced enough to understand the answers on Reddit or Quora? I know I wasn’t.

Eventually, learning to code can start to feel like an advanced course in finding the most obscure videos on Youtube rather than learning to code.

By this point, you have invested hours into your coding journey, possibly sacrificing sleep, if you have a day job, and time with family and friends. You start to ask yourself, “why should I learn to code” suddenly, the financial reasons that you thought were so important don’t seem to be as important anymore.

At this time, you need to dig deep to keep yourself motivated, and it’s because I am at that point in my coding journey that I am sure that this time it will be different.

If you have found this article interesting so far you can read the the remaining reasons of why I am learning to code by Clicking Here

Top comments (0)