DEV Community

Bek Brace
Bek Brace

Posted on • Updated on

Is it worth learning JavaScript?

My favorite language is Python, and I feel very comfortable with it; but when I look around I find a lot of developers know 2 , 3 maybe more languages, a lot of frameworks, and maybe one or two for backend and the circle doesn't stop there, I mean they continue to learn more and more and more !

The reason why I am writing this blog post, is a YouTube comment I have read that says " The more languages you learn, the more chances you'll have" and I say this is not precisely true, I'd rather say


"Don't distract yourself, concentrate in one technology and be good at it"


Some time ago I learned everything about HTML5 and CSS3 , I have created web pages in tutorials and side projects but without the use of JavaScript, which seemed to me the missing block in the overall design of whatever I am designing; instead I was using Flask or Django but it was all amateur to intermediate projects and I thought to myself " hey, maybe it's time to step up and learn JavaScript".

I ordered a couple of books on Amazon - before the pandemic- and I've received my assets just in time! And as we're all quarantined now, I am using this time to read and study academically instead of falling in those YouTube rabbit holes each night, I read two books now:
1- Automate the boring stuff with Python
2 JavaScript and jQuery: Interactive Front-End Web Development

So, back to my question, is it worth learning JavaScript if I know already a language (Python) and I understand the logic and the mechanics of the syntax for 85% of the language ? My answer is : I really don't know! And if you do, please tell me.

P.S Special Thanks to Brad Traversy as he is the one behind my constant motivation, he was the one behind me creating a YouTube channel and writing these blog posts.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
thepeoplesbourgeois profile image
Josh

Common wisdom alleges, "The jack of all trades is the master of none." I would contend that if that were the case, scores of research would not show that learning to play an instrument helps you to learn mathematics, that learning a second spoken language bolsters critical thinking ability, that being versed in cooking gives you a firmer grasp of how to write instructions for complicated processes, or that learning to paint provides you with the foundation to plan out large projects.

Skills overlap, sometimes in unexpected ways. Yes, it is absolutely worth it to learn Javascript.

Collapse
 
bekbrace profile image
Bek Brace

Agree!

Collapse
 
danoswalt profile image
Dan Oswalt

It depends what you want to do, JS is sort of everywhere so it makes sense as another language. I don't think it can be wrong to give a try. It's a full time job keeping up with everything front-end related, if that's primarily why you're interested, but even knowing the basics and its particular weird parts surely will come in handy at some point.

Collapse
 
bekbrace profile image
Bek Brace

I am studying JS now, and I sure enjoy it - thanks friend