DEV Community

Cover image for My First Week as an Outreachy Intern with Bioconductor
BerylKanali
BerylKanali

Posted on

My First Week as an Outreachy Intern with Bioconductor

About me

My name is Beryl Kanali. I am an outreachy intern in the Dec 2022 to March 2023 cohort. I will be working on Bioconductor's project Sweave2Rmd project.

My interests are Open source, Data Science, statistics and technology in general.

Bioconductor

The mission of the Bioconductor project is to develop, support, and disseminate free open source software that facilitates rigorous and reproducible analysis of data from current and emerging biological assays.

Outreachy

Outreachy provides internships in open source and open science. Outreachy provides internships to people subject to systemic bias and impacted by underrepresentation in the technical industry where they are living.

My Motivation

I was introduced to open source in October 2021 when I participated in my first Open Source sprint, organized by Data Umbrella. Since then my interest in Open Source and Free software communities has grown.

After learning about outreachy, I decided to apply so that I can grow and get knowledge in open source. Given the magnitude of applications, I was honored to be selected and now experiencing what is it like to be an outreachy intern.

My Core Values

Curiosity and determination are the core values that have helped me get where I am today. I am always curious about how things work and how technology is used in different fields. That ishow I settled on Bioconductor as my project of interest.

Determination helped me get through all the stages of outreachy and finally get in.
These two corevalues come handy as I work on my project. There is a lot to learn at Bioconductor and from my mentors.

My first week has been nothing short of amazing. I am learning new things and meeting different people. I also get to contribute to a Free software project which is really cool.

What next?

I look forward to making the best out of my time in Bioconductor and learning as much as I can from my mentor. I am also excited to share my journey and lessons throughout my internship.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
ndubi3 profile image
Dennis Ndubi

Hello Beryl Kanali. Congratulations for being selected as an intern at Outreachy Org. I would like to apply for the same for the may-august corhort and i will appreciate your help in the application process. i thought this is the only way i can reach you out and i will be pleased if you may contact me at bugeridennisndubi1@gmail.com or (+254799726820). Thank you