DEV Community

Takuma Otake
Takuma Otake

Posted on • Updated on

Copy VEGAS Pro presets, etc. to another PC

Hello everybody.
This is an English translation and modification of the article (link) posted in Japanese in advance.

Introduction

I recently changed my main PC.
I install the software that I always use on the new PC, but some of them need to be migrated.
Chrome and Microsoft Office are linked to the account, so they do it automatically, but for software that does not, you have to export and import the settings yourself.
When I was doing such work leisurely while fighting drowsiness, I realized that it was not straightforward to migrate the settings of the video editing software VEGAS Pro.
Normally, software for creators such as video editing software has a menu for migrating settings, but only VEGAS Pro did not find such a menu.
I had no choice but to ask Google Sensei and he told me to download "Preset Manager 2.0".
However, the software has already been officially distributed, and I had to download it from an unofficial archive site.
At that time, I was already sick, so I just checked for viruses and installed the software from that installer.
* Good boys should not download programs from suspicious sites.
And I used that software to migrate the data, but the only migrated setting was the event FX filter his package.
However, there is no other tool that could be used, so I had no choice but to spend about an hour manually migrating the settings.
This time, the migration was completed, but I don't want to struggle with the same thing a few years later, so I decided to put together the work required to migrate the settings in the program.

Main subject

So, this time, I would like to introduce you to VEGAS Pro Configuration Backup Tools.
With this free software, you can back up and restore the effect settings of VEGAS Pro.
The backup targets are "Filter package of each event FX", "Media generator preset", and "Rendering template".

How to use

* You must agree to the license (MIT License) to use the program.

  1. Download the ZIP file containing the latest program
    Download the latest release of "Source code (zip)" on this page.

  2. Extract the ZIP file
    Right-click the downloaded ZIP file and click "Extract All" to display the extraction wizard.

  3. Find the folder of the item you want to back up from the extracted folders

    Reference

    Filter package of each event FX → Event FX
    Media generator preset → OFX Presets
    Rendering template → Render Templates

  4. Execute "save.bat" in the folder of the item you want to back up (operate at the migration source)

  5. Execute the backup file (operate at the migration destination)
    * It is necessary to copy the backup file to the migration destination using a USB memory or the like.

Important point

  1. Not all settings will be migrated (eg event pan / crop presets will not be migrated).

  2. Use this program at your own risk.

Top comments (0)