DEV Community

Endah Bongo-Awah
Endah Bongo-Awah

Posted on

My First AWS Event Experience: AWS Summit Berlin 2023

Some might be wondering why a post about the AWS Summit Berlin that happened in Mai (about 7 months ago) is being posted in December. I was going through my yearly activities and documentations, and discovered I didn't post about my first ever event as an awscommunitybuilder.
I would have led this slide, but the series of events before and during which were meant to stop me from attending the vent, didn't succeed in stopping me.

I'm excited to share my experience from earlier this year, back in May, when I attended the AWS Summit in Berlin. It was a rollercoaster of emotions leading up to the event, but I am so glad I pushed through and made it there! Here's a recount of my first-ever AWS event.

Overcoming Obstacles to Attend 🙅🏾‍♀️ 🥷🏽

Joining the AWS Community Builder program was a fantastic opportunity, and I'd promised myself to attend all AWS-related events I could. AWS Summit Berlin was the first on my list. However, the days leading up to the event were challenging. My husband was hospitalized, finances were tight, my kids' activities increased, and my 80-year-old mother-in-law, who lives with us, fell sick with a toothache and I had to accompany her on the series of hospital visits. It seemed like everything was conspiring against my attendance.

Despite these challenges, I knew I didn't want to miss the summit. The flights and trains to Berlin became increasingly expensive, so I opted for a Flixbus (an 8 hour journey) to save on costs and arrived two hours later than planned , but I was not deterred!

Hitting the Ground Running 🏃🏽‍♀️🏃🏽‍♀️

I arrived at the summit full of energy and ready to network, but my appearance didn't look the part. I quickly applied some makeup at the entrance and wasn't bothered about my surroundings. I entered the venue, and it took me a minute to let everything sink-in. The energy was encouraging, entertaining, welcoming and inspiring to say the least. I collected my batch and contemplated on the next best action.

Exploring the Summit and Networking 👩🏾‍💻 🔍

Once I met most of the community builders in person at the AWS Community Lounge, I set off to explore the event. I attempted to go visit every stand. This wasn't possible at the first try.The summit offered a wealth of insights and innovative ideas, showcasing efficient new ways to optimize cloud services.

Networking with cloud enthusiasts and colleagues was an incredible experience. Sharing my own journey in cloud computing and discussing real-life problem-solving made me feel empowered.

Swags, Stickers, and More! 😎 🤩

I finally got to "pimp" my laptop with all sorts of AWS and cloud computing stickers. The community builders were all invited for dinner and beer. Thanks to the management of AWS communitybuilders. We socialized and had some great conversations with our leaders and heroes.

The event swag was another highlight: I received an AWS hoodie, mug, bags in various colors, a T-shirt and socks from Reply, and several pens, office supplies, and souvenirs from different cloud providers.

Inspiring Keynote Speakers ♘

The keynote speakers were fantastic, featuring people I never thought I'd meet in person, such as Viktoria Seeman and Taylor Jacobsen. She shared inspiring words for women in the field, and you can find more information on my LinkedIn here

The AWS Summit Berlin was an unforgettable experience, and I encourage all cloud enthusiasts to attend an AWS event if you can. I missed my bus back home and had to spend 6 hours at the train station. I met an amazing young lady at the station who missed her train to Paris as well. She was in tears, so i consoled her with some of my swag. We cheered each other and ended up laughing over our mishaps.
Things always workout if we don't give up!
Don't be discouraged!
I'm looking forward to the next one!

Happy me

Top comments (0)