DEV Community

Brayden W ⚡️
Brayden W ⚡️

Posted on • Updated on

3 awesome open-source iconsets! 🧰

Over the past few weeks I’ve been creating a list of my favorite open-source icons. They’ve really expanded my thinking on different styles and trends in the design world. Let’s get started!

CSS.gg

CSS.gg is a minimalist library with over 700+ icons for CSS, SVG, Figma, Adobe XD, and more! CSS.gg also was created by @astrit

CSS.gg

With over 6000+ stars on Github, this open-source project is no joke. Each icon is very precise and detailed.

I’ve used CSS.gg for a project in the past and it worked very well. Easy-to-setup, lightweight, and customizable. All very important features I look for.

FontAwesome

Yep, I’m assuming you saw this one coming. With the huge library of icons and styles, this tool has taken web designers by storm. ⚡

FontAwesome

With icons for every occasion, you’ll be set. 👍

You can either go with the free plan or purchase the pro membership which includes:
-6000+ more icons

  • More styles and brand choices
  • Pro licenses
  • And much more! I’m also pretty hyped 💪 for FontAwesome right now because version 6 is soon to release! I can’t wait to use their new styles which have a thinner and more modern feel.

HeroIcons

Some have heard of it, some haven’t. The point is that you’ve now heard of it!

Heroicons.dev is another magnificent open-source icon toolkit with a very modern style.

HeroIcons.dev

To be honest, I recently found this while browsing Indiehackers…

…and boy am I glad I did!

Heroicons has a very clean and unique style to it that makes any design feel fresh. I love that. It also has a solid and regular style just like FontAwesome which is pretty cool. I am planning to use this in BuildFaster’s website very soon.


This story is an extract from The BuildFaster Update.

View the full post here 👈

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
cyntss profile image
Cynthia 🏳️‍🌈 Sanchez

A TRUE open-source is icons.eosdesignsystem.com/

It has MIT license, all icons are customizable (we have an online configuration tool), the sources are distributed, they are available as PNG, SVG, Font, NPM, Rubygem.

And the best part? it is backed by a big community, so you can ask for new icons and they'll be included in no time!

Oh... and no enterprise packs.. EVERYTHING we create goes up into the open source pack!

You're welcome! :D

Collapse
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

I just saw this! Thanks for the great resource :D

Collapse
 
astrit profile image
Astrit

Thank you very much for including CSS.GG on this list.
I am glad you liked it 😃 😄 😀

Collapse
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

Your welcome! Awesome work :)

Collapse
 
mowat27 profile image
Adrian Mowat

Could you add some links to the article please?

Heroicons is at heroicons.dev/ and I ended up at heroicons.com - which you have to pay for.

Thanks!

Collapse
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

Yeah no problem Adrian! Just updated them now. 👍

Collapse
 
mowat27 profile image
Adrian Mowat

Awesome. Thanks man!

Thread Thread
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

No problem!

Collapse
 
yougotwill profile image
Will G

iconmonstr.com/ is my go to. Nice and clean :)

Collapse
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

Cool, thanks for the resource :D