DEV Community

Brayden W ⚡️
Brayden W ⚡️

Posted on

What stinks about programming? 😖

Hi, I’m Brayden.

A Frontend developer and freelancer. You might know me from BuildFaster.co (HTML template-selling site). If not, then it’s good to meet you! 👋


Anywho, for the past few months, I’ve taken a break from indiehacking after dropping BuildFaster. During this break, I’ve had the time to stop, breathe, and think of new ideas. I’ve also learned new technologies like NextJS and Firebase which I can implement in future projects. 🚧

So... what’s up?

Well, when I started BuildFaster, I wanted to make money. Not gonna lie, 😅 that was my goal. I didn’t think of the beginning problem thoroughly and instead jumped right to the solution. Because of that, I didn’t get onto the path I wanted originally.

This time, it’s going to be different.

oh yeah gif

I want to actually take the time to brainstorm a problem and make a solution that I can scale, grow and audience with, and monetize.

So I’m opening this question up to all the developers.

What’s your biggest struggle was a developer? 🥵

No profession is perfect 🌈 , so there are always some cons about what you like to do.

It can be an issue that already exists, or something you struggle with.

I greatly appreciate your help. Thanks! 😄

Top comments (13)

Collapse
 
nickcorona profile image
Nick Corona • Edited

Managers generally. They think our jobs are easier than they are because they don't understand what we do so they set unrealistic deadlines.

Collapse
 
dendihandian profile image
Dendi Handian • Edited

Yes, this exists in any company without exception.

I'm thinking that a 'Dream Job' can be found in a company that understands this kind of thing.

Collapse
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

Very true.

Collapse
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

Pretty true - unfortunately.

Do you think there could be a solution? (Other than just telling them upfront :P)

Collapse
 
mreading2020 profile image
mreading2020

Ask them to sit with you for a day and watch you grind. They will soon work out how long stuff takes.

Thread Thread
 
mreading2020 profile image
mreading2020

Of they don't them they have no reason to set such unrealistic deadlines.

Thread Thread
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

Haha love it 😂😂

Collapse
 
latobibor profile image
András Tóth

Sorry for not answering the question but your proposition:

I think you can make money from finding a solution to a problem you are very familiar with. But a product will fail if you have a solution looking for a problem. I saw two products failing like that in a previous company. Reading BusinessInsider and getting greedy about a possible big money will end up as shitty products no one needs.

The joke at the company was that the product got translated to more languages than it had users...

Also there are successful companies that struggle to land a product because of shitty infrastructure and then instead make a product out of the fixed infrastructure. Because that time they solved an actual problem they were intimately familiar with.

Collapse
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

Hey András! No problem at all!

I think that’s very true. You just saved me a lot of searching and stressing. 😅

I originally was asking for other people for problems they had, and half of the ones they said I hadn’t even encountered before. Therefore providing a weak end on my side to build off of.

I’ll definitely keep this in mind. Thanks so much!

Collapse
 
latobibor profile image
András Tóth

Another cool thing to pick up is UX research. There are certain ways to conduct interviews and hunt down what people really want.

Thread Thread
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

Interesting, good to know! Thanks for your help.

Collapse
 
mreading2020 profile image
mreading2020

Ask them to sit with you for a day and watch you grind. They will soon work out how long stuff takes.

Collapse
 
braydentw profile image
Brayden W ⚡️

That’s so true. I felt the same way when learning React a few months ago.

I’ll keep you posted if I have a solution in the future 😉