DEV Community

Cameron Donovan
Cameron Donovan

Posted on

Personal Project Update! First Blog

A bit of background:

I started work on my first ever personal project that I was planning on trying to get revenue from called LogBug which the idea is it's an all in one software which allows the user to keep track of bugs inside of projects as well as to manage a team of people effectively. I started writing the code in the summer of 2022 and had my first release October that year. The first iteration of code for the website was written in PHP using phpMyAdmin as the database of choice.

After I got about 10+ people testing the website I realized my PHP code was not scalability in the slightest and the cost of AWS EC2 Instance Hosting I was using would not be ideal. I applied for the startup funding with AWS and got granted $1000 in credits which helped for about the first two months but after I used up all the credits it was not ideal to continue so I switched off the servers and taken about a 4 month break from working on it.

Here is the image of the site just before the servers got shut off:

This is the image which shows the organisation page where you can see the organisations you are in

Where is the project now?

About October 2023 I started work again on LogBug during the break I taken from working on it I was teaching myself react.JS and with that I managed to use my new found knowledge to work on the new LogBug. I added tailwind css for the frontend styling and firebase/store as my database and hosting solution all for free!

I am still working on it and it is due to have a public release within the next month. I am working very hard to make this project viable for the future and as scalable as possible.

I will be posting a lot more posts about the project as development continues now. I am currently working on a public API for the community to use.

Here is the image of what the site now looks like. It is kind of keeping with the old design but just with better colours and layout.

This is the home page after the user logs in you can see the statistics from the user displayed as well as the navbar and the dropdown on the top right

Thanks For Reading This Is My First Blog Any Feedback Would Be Helpful!

Top comments (0)