DEV Community

Casey Echternacht
Casey Echternacht

Posted on

Off the rails

I joined an apprenticeship program that offers a free bootcamp and locks participants in a 2-year low-pay contract (25k fine for breaking agreement).

As bad as their terms are, it seemed like a sure-fire way to get industry experience. I was willing to lock myself into this situation because I wanted to start out my tech career with training wheels.

There is safety in having someone else set my benchmarks, curriculum and expectations. That way, if I end up focusing on the wrong things I can blame someone else.

I found out yesterday that the bootcamp is delayed anywhere from 1 to 10 months. My bills aren't taking any time off; so it's time to get a job.

In my free time; I'll be working towards my goal of making that predatory apprenticeship unnecessary.

Top comments (0)