DEV Community

Casey Echternacht
Casey Echternacht

Posted on

Time to pivot

I've been studying Java because seasoned programmers recommend it. I have made a concerted effort to know all the best words in this language. When I sit down to create my own project, I'm stuck.

But it's not the same kind of stuck as when I sit down to write a post and I have writer's block. It's the kind of stuck where I can't take a single step without following someone else's example.

There is so much to this language that has to do with how to make a program run efficiently, how to make it easy to read, how to make it well-organized; how to make tweaks that are only visible "under the hood".

In order to stay motivated, I need the gratification that comes from delivering something more tangible (UI/UX stuff; interactive websites).

93

Top comments (0)