DEV Community

Cover image for What advice would I give to new Junior Developers?
Christopher Glikpo
Christopher Glikpo

Posted on • Updated on

What advice would I give to new Junior Developers?

  1. You don't need to know everything when you starting out:
    One of the things that I remember when I was a Junior Developer. I thought I had to know everything. But in reality, the expectation was how fast can I learn and can I work together with a team.Because when you are starting out, your seniors or supervisor will know that you are no expert and they would be giving you easy tasks that they know you can handle and learn from bit by bit.So don't forget, when you are starting out, focus on sharpening your skills and be a team member.

  2. Learn how to break code apart:
    One of the major things in writing code is to learn how can you make it reusable. It sounds easy, but it's a bit tricky in practice.One of the books that I would recommend (I read it as a junior and it helped me to jump-start my career) and is to read clean code written by Robert Cecil Martin.

  3. Last but not least, try to reference the docs:
    A lot of developers (who aren't even juniors) would search StackOverflow for the answer instead of going directly to the source. Copying and pasting the answer is not how you will get to the answer.Most of the time StackOverflow would have answers that are not best in practice. So when you write a new piece of code let's say using JavaScript, refer to the JavaScript document on how the specific function is working.

If you like my work, please consider
Buy me a coffee
so that I can bring more projects, more articles for you

If you want to learn more about Web Development, feel free to follow me on https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCze04H5oeudQ01G9DDj-frA

Top comments (0)