DEV Community

Chablis Omo Oba
Chablis Omo Oba

Posted on

Just getting here

Search...

Welcome Thread - v75
thepracticaldev profile image dev.to staff May 27 ・1 min read

welcome

colorful hey

Welcome to DEV!
Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. 👋

Great to have you in the community!

heart 17 unicorn 8 reading list 0 dropdown menu icon
Discussion
Subscribe
Add to the discussion
markdown guideupload image
PREVIEW
simgorithm profile image Simgorithm twitter logoMay 27Dropdown menu
Hello! I am at the very beginning of, what I hope to be, a long adventure into the world of development. I just started learning how to program in Swift on May 12th. I'm taking my time with it and so far I'm loving it. Last night, I completed Fizzbuzz, without spoilers, and couldn't be more elated. Anyhow, I'm super psyched to be here and I look forward to interacting with the community in the future. Take care!

Favorite heart outline button
REPLY
shubhamjadhav profile image shubham jadhav twitter logo github logoMay 28Dropdown menu
Good to have you in community

Favorite heart outline button
REPLY
northernlights profile image Parnian github logoMay 27Dropdown menu
Hello I am a geek who loves to learn.

Favorite heart outline button
REPLY
ericdacosta profile image Eric da Costa twitter logo github logoMay 27Dropdown menu
Hello, I'm brazzilian who is learning frontend web development, increasing my english skills and who wants to make some posts in english about many things who envolve my technologies studies and some other things.

Favorite heart outline button
REPLY
bernardbaker profile image Bernard Baker twitter logo github logoMay 27Dropdown menu
JAM STACK CONF is on!
jamstackconf.com

Favorite heart outline button
REPLY
alyatek profile image alyatek github logoMay 27Dropdown menu
pos

Favorite heart outline button
REPLY
bernardbaker profile image Bernard Baker twitter logo github logoMay 27Dropdown menu
Sorry, I don't understand what you mean by "pos".

Could you explain the meaning of "pos"?

Favorite heart outline button
REPLY
padasuwini profile image Ashwini Padmanabhi twitter logoMay 28Dropdown menu
Hello!
I am software engineer,and I was learning react native and while searching for my answers I came across this community.I felt its a great platform to share our experiences and success to help others and also get help from others if needed.I believe teaching is to learn twice!Pleasure to be part of the DEV community!

Favorite heart outline button
REPLY
shanif profile image Shani Fedida twitter logo github logoMay 28Dropdown menu
Hi,
I published my first blog post here after I read you get much more traffic here than medium.
I like that people respond and share their experiences 😍
The posts here are very versatile and encourage sharing, I like that!

Favorite heart outline button
REPLY
garethoates profile image Gareth Oates twitter logo github logoMay 28Dropdown menu
Hello, I'm a Scot living in Norway and working for a consultancy called Enso. I've been a professional developer for over a decade after graduating with a BSc (Honors) in Computer Science in 2008.

I really enjoy software automation and DevOps. Building quality into delivery pipelines, increasing value to customers, and reducing waste. Working on Infrastructure as code, continuous integration and delivery, logging, and monitoring are what gets me out of bed in the morning. I also enjoy improving legacy code and architecting new systems.

Favorite heart outline button
REPLY
momandalex022 profile image Christine Marshall twitter logo github logoMay 28Dropdown menu
Hello Everyone!
I am so glad to be part of this community! I love the part where you explain it like you are talking to a 5-year-old! I enjoy this part because i am terrified of Git and Github i just have no idea what a git and a github is! Do you just put work in there and everyone adds to it? I really don't understand the concept of it... and i don't understand how i as a complete newbie can contribute whatsoever to someone's project and what in the world is a repository and a commit? by the way, i am 51, i am retired and am beginning a second career as hopefully a fullstack developer once i learn everything i need to learn i love coding! I have found my dream job i want to become a remote fullstack web developer! I am often an overachiever and have to slow myself down because my last career gave me PTSD... so i need to find a way to pace myself, i often study and practice coding 6 hours a day... i already love this community you all are so great!

Favorite heart outline button
REPLY
haarisiqubal profile image Haaris Iqubal twitter logo github logoMay 28Dropdown menu
Hi, my self Haaris, I just started to write on Dev.to, currently, I am learning Deno and making a video about all the coding tips and tricks at Recoding join me if you like this content.

Favorite heart outline button
REPLY
pjavadi84 profile image Pouya github logoMay 28Dropdown menu
Hi my name is Pouya. I am in progress through Flatiron coding bootcamp. Currently working on JavaScript, and has learned RoR previously. And about to lesrn React/Redux. I like to connect, learn about new ideas, collaborate on crazy projects, a great learning experience learning about all of you, talking about tech, and challenges that humanity facing today and how software/hardware can really help solve.

Favorite heart outline button
REPLY
vyber90 profile image Néstor Llop Guerra github logoMay 27Dropdown menu
Hello world, DEVelopers out there! I'm Néstor, I am from Spain, and I love low level programming. Also, Im self taught, so I dont have any professional experience or formal studies.

Favorite heart outline button
REPLY
v2ishal profile image Vishal Jagtap github logoMay 28Dropdown menu
Hello , I am Developer who love to work on devops tools and open to discuss and gain knowledge on latest technologies and trends in automation, devops and cloud .I am glad to be part of this community, its a very good platform to share ideas and gain knowledge.

Favorite heart outline button
REPLY
hanz11cz profile image Hanz11CZ github logoMay 28Dropdown menu
Hello from the Czech Republic! Looking forward to immersing myself in this tech field which I'm really becoming passionate about. Anyone wanting to meet and exchange experience or just learn together hit me up to chat! :)

Favorite heart outline button
REPLY
elgorditosalsero profile image Guido Porcaro github logoMay 27Dropdown menu
Hello. I'm a FE Developer from Italy

Favorite heart outline button
REPLY
apurva_mistry profile image Apurva Mistry twitter logoMay 28Dropdown menu
Hello everyone!

Joining dev.to after 10 years of software development should be a punishable offence. But nonetheless, I am here now, and I'm here to stay. The goal is to learn a lot from all you wonderful people out there! Anything Javascript and I'm all ears. Hoping to gave a great time!

apurvamistry.com
That's where you'll know more about me!

Favorite heart outline button
REPLY
mariohoyos profile image Mario Hoyos twitter logo github logoMay 28Dropdown menu
Hello! My name is Mario and I stumbled across this community on Twitter. I spent six years in college to get a Doctor of Pharmacy degree, only to find out I hated being a pharamcist and ended up becoming a web developer instead. I write about how I did it and things I've learned along the way.

Favorite heart outline button
REPLY
sumanrana profile image Suman Kumar Rana github logoMay 28Dropdown menu
Hi, I just landed here wandering technical articles in internet. I am willing to learn and improve my skills.
At the same time, help people around the globe as much as possible through my articles.
Stay safe.
Take care.

Favorite heart outline button
REPLY
chablis_omoba profile image Chablis Omo Oba twitter logoMay 28Dropdown menu
Hey, sup! I'm new here.
I was feeling like being part of a community that shares same things with what I belong to...
I am kind of student, I hold my bachelor on compscie.

I learnt java for longer. But recently I started with laravel.

I know I have much to learn but with you guys help I think I can master more.
What I most struggle on is database... Not that I can't build a database, I do create, but sometimes I'm confused.
I can create good layout for desktop app with fxml. I do bootstrap cause I learnt css and html...
Hope you guys can be a help to me.

Top comments (0)