DEV Community

Cover image for My Android Learning Journey: Day 2
Charan
Charan

Posted on

My Android Learning Journey: Day 2

So, it's Day 2 of learning Android. The voyage continued into setting up Android Studio with a little overview of what it is all about.

Then we dive right into building our first app. No, it's not one of those beautiful Material UI apps. It's kinda like a "Hello World" program, but in Android. The course uses it to introduce several things in the code like "Composable functions", "The Surface Widget".

After a little playing around with the code, the course continued into explaining how to setup an Android emulator to test the app. It also explained how to use a physical device to test the app.

Here's the badge for the day:

Set up Android Studio

Visit it here.

Finally, to end the day, I went on to study the next pathway and read a little about what in the world this "Jetpack Compose" is.

Today felt more like revision than learning something new because I'm already used to Android Studio from my Flutter practice. It may sound a little weird but yes, I' coming to Android from Flutter. Like I mentioned in my first post, despite having myself familiarized with a ton of technologies, I didn't have enough experience and work to showcase. Anyway, I'm trying to gain exactly those, with this entirely new journey of mine... Experience and work that I can showcase publicly showcase to the world.

That's all for the day.
Thanks for reading! Do share your thoughts and experiences in the comments. I'd love to hear from real people like YOU!

Top comments (0)