DEV Community

Cover image for My Android Learning Journey: Day 3
Charan
Charan

Posted on

My Android Learning Journey: Day 3

I'm back to learning Android again! If you're seeing this for the first time, this is where I document my journey of learning Android, simultaneously turning my learning into notes for everyone to learn.

It has been several weeks since my day 2 but, I won't hesitate to call this my day 3 of learning Android because today's lessons made me revise all of my previous lessons of day 1 and day 2.

Today, I learnt a few things (feels like a lot though) in Jetpack Compose. Here's a little bit of an explanation about everything I learned today:

Jetpack Compose: It is a modern toolkit for building user interfaces in Android.

Composables: Composables are just Kotlin functions that do not return anything and are annotated with @Composable. These are the basic building blocks of user interfaces in Jetpack Compose.

Modifier: It allows us to style or decorate the compose UI elements.

And, I also learnt the basic layouts in compose: Box, Row, and Column. Here's a little bit about them:

Box: The Box layout basically stacks one element on top of another like below

overlapping squares

Column: It puts one element below another like below

stack of rectangle elements

Row: It puts one element next to the other like below

rows of rectangle bars

And, I created several apps using these very basics. Here's a screenshot of one of those, my business card app that makes use of almost everything I just mentioned:

business card app

If you're wondering what course I'm following, it is called the Android Basics with Compose. Check out the badge I earned today: Build a basic layout

build a basic layout badge

Today has been a lot of fun learning all of these things, creating apps, and figuring out workarounds to many problems that I've faced in the Android Studio. Can't wait to see what's up next in the course!

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
karim_abdallah profile image
Karim Abdallah

I am glad that you share everything you learn, Keep it UP ✨