DEV Community

Charith
Charith

Posted on

What is the technology used in this website and what would be the ideal solution to create the same?

I have randomly visited this site and wondered about how this was done. I'm a UX UI Designer stepping into the development and I have a motion design background as well.

It would be amazing if someone can help me.

Thank you.

Here's the site.
https://www.adultswim.com/toonami/

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
tizz98 profile image
Elijah Wilson

They're using WebGL with THREE.js you can look at their code toonami-2018-prod.s3.amazonaws.com... it also looks like they are using a library called Hydra. The majority of the 3D elements would be implemented in a 3D rendering software and then generate shaders to use with THREE.js.

Collapse
 
charithdesign profile image
Charith

Thanks a lot and this is a helpful answer too. My client wants something next generational, so I'm trying to find a way to figure out how it's done so I can hire developers to do it.

Collapse
 
brandinchiu profile image
Brandin Chiu

The company that appears to have built the solution is Active Theory. From the looks of it, it appears as if this kind of thing is their specialty, and is likely proprietary, in-house stuff.

You could try asking them on social media, or maybe just apply for a job, haha :)

Collapse
 
charithdesign profile image
Charith

I will give a try. Thanks a lot for your inputs.

Collapse
 
miketalbot profile image
Mike Talbot ⭐

Woo that is very cool :)

If you wanted to start down that road then things like babylon.js would be the place to start - but still a load of coding...

Collapse
 
charithdesign profile image
Charith

Thank you for your response. I do really appreciate it.