DEV Community

Charlie Reese 🦖
Charlie Reese 🦖

Posted on

How to build a (Drake) Twitter bot

I was at a bar with an old group of friends over the 2017 holidays. While we were waiting in line, one of them mentioned that he heard about a Twitter-bot that replied to tweets containing Biggie Smalls lyrics with other Biggie Smalls lyrics.

I thought the idea was hilarious, and after one or six beers decided it was something I had to build! However, I wanted to do things a little differently:

  • I rep the 6 I live in Toronto, so the Twitter-bot would be for Drake - a.k.a the DrizzyBot
  • The DrizzyBot should reply to tweets containing Drake lyrics with the next line of the song
  • The DrizzyBot should run at regular intervals with no human interaction

After a day of programming, tinkering, and giggling, the DrizzyBot was born.

Follow the DrizzyBot here: @The110God (Note: 6 in binary is 110) 😏

View the source code for the DrizzyBot here. Note: the source code is in ruby and is only ~100 lines

Top comments (0)