DEV Community

Chris Chiotis
Chris Chiotis

Posted on

A prediction on the future of WordPress themes in post-Gutenberg times

A couple of weeks ago I started thinking about the phase 2 and 3 of the Gutenberg overhaul to the WordPress back-end and as a designer and a theme developer for my clients I became really skeptical about it.

There is no reason to argue if the Block Editor is good or bad. It is here. And here are my thoughts (or predictions) on the future of WordPress themes when the Gutenberg implementation will reach 100%

In general my thoughts on the whole WordPress transition are negative, that is why I have started supporting and using ClassicPress for live client websites. But in this post, I kept my opinion on the Block Editor neutral.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
gabe profile image
Gabe

Personally, I'm excited to see what Gutenberg does to the future of WP. I would like to really get into creating custom Gutenberg blocks sometime soon. The idea of giving a client a complete wordpress build with custom blocks that they can edit themselves seems pretty neat.