DEV Community

Cover image for What Inspired You To Learn To Code?
Alex Chiu
Alex Chiu

Posted on • Updated on

What Inspired You To Learn To Code?

I hacked together something special to me yesterday. I've been keeping it running in the background and found that It's extremely relaxing.

A week off work with nothing to do. So I made a thing.

🎢 Musical OSM Edits...https://t.co/07ZeNrjYWf

πŸ”Š Sound on and relax... pic.twitter.com/2pA8AIslNP

β€” 𝘈𝘭𝘦𝘹 𝘊𝘩π˜ͺ𝘢☁ (@chiubaca) March 10, 2021

It's special because it was directly inspired by a CodePen I saw a few years ago called Trams of Helsinki. I promised myself that I would create something similar once I learnt how to code.

Coming from a background in GIS (Geographical Information Systems) I've always been drawn to map oriented data visualisations. You can get pretty far with desktop applications such as QGIS and ArcMap. But I was always impressed with those who could create these data visualisations using code.

2017 was when I decided I was going to transition my career from a GIS consultant to web-developer. During this time I self-taught myself with texts books, Free Code Camp and lots of YouTube!

Somewhere along this journey, I forgot about what originally inspired me to start this journey in the first place. It was to create Whimsy and interesting data visualisations!

It kind of felt like I brought my coding journey full circle by creating this. It's interesting and constructive to look back on how far you've come sometimes.


Tell me about what inspired you to start your coding journey!

Top comments (0)