DEV Community

Carlos Jimenez
Carlos Jimenez

Posted on • Originally published at cmjimenez.com

Fighting Anxiety and Impostor Syndrome by Blogging

It was around February of 2018 when I decided to purchase my domains. I was a little excited, so I purchased three of them: cmjimenez.com, cmjimenez.net, cmjimenez.me. You know, just in case someone else might be looking to purchase them as well -_-. So, now I had three domains and no idea what I was going to do with any of them.

I spend a lot of my free time reading. Between Dev.To, Reddit, or Hackernoon, I can always manage to find something that would peak my interest. One topic that I always found interesting was on "why you should create your own blog". There were a number of reasons on why it was beneficial. Some post elaborated on how maintaining a blog would provide a way for you to document your work. Others highlighted the importance of being able to share their views and their unique approaches to solving certain problems. However, one of the most interesting things that I read about was about how creating a blog could also help boost my confidence. I never thought about it from that perspective before and I was willing to give it a try.

So, how would creating a blog help boost my confidence?

I often get anxiety when communicating with others - especially in a professional setting. I am pretty sure this anxiety stems from the slight insecurity that I have of not wanting to be wrong. I guess it is what is referred to as impostor syndrome. I am also not the only one who suffers from this detrimental mind state. I have read quite a few post that were written by individuals who also suffer from this way of thinking.

I think a lot of us are scared of being judged. My mind tends to think the worst in these situations, even if it is unwarranted. My drive to be a perfectionist tends to amplify these thoughts as well. By putting my self out there and writing a blog, I am making my self vulnerable. I will be sharing my views with others and in doing so, I hope to become more comfortable in these sort of situations. Now, I know there is nothing wrong with putting our selves out there. Hell, there is nothing wrong about being wrong either! When we are wrong, it provides an opportunity to learn something new.

So if your on the fence on creating a blog, just do it. If not for sharing with others, at least do it for your self. You have nothing to loose!

So here we are...

I started working on my website finally around December of 2018 and by February I released the first iteration of my website. It is now August of 2019 and I am finally releasing my blog. It probably should not have taken that long but that is a subject for another post in the future.

Cross post from my blog: https://www.cmjimenez.com/blog/why-i-created-a-blog

Top comments (0)