DEV Community

alrex
alrex

Posted on • Originally published at Medium on

Disabling go modules in Visual Studio Code

Photo by Jeff James on Unsplash

I couldn’t find a good answer to this question and I looked for hours. Ultimately, I decided to document it here for the next time I need it and for anyone else out there who’s looking to disable go modules in in Visual Studio Code.

  1. Open up Settings (⌘,) and search for “go tools env vars”

  1. Click “Edit in settings.json” and set GO111MODULE to off

I also disabled the go language server as it was burning a hole through my lap:

Well that’s all there was to it! I’m now able to use VSCode for all my editing needs.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
hamzaanis profile image
Hamza Anis

Everyone is moving towards go modules but still a good post.

Collapse
 
codeboten profile image
alrex

True, but ya never know when you’ll work on a project that hasn’t found a need to migrate! :)

Collapse
 
osuka42 profile image
Oscar Mendoza

Great, this was very useful to me. Thanks!

Collapse
 
pranavtupe2000 profile image
PranavTupe2000

Thanks man. It was very helpful.
It was life saving for me.
You did a really great job.