DEV Community

Doug Jones
Doug Jones

Posted on

Steps to πŸ‘¨πŸΏβ€πŸ’»πŸ‘¨πŸΏβ€πŸ’»πŸ‘¨πŸΏβ€πŸ’» part 2

walking down a road

I just finished coding my first game. Even though it was something I could have finished in a shorter amount of time. I really wanted to grasp the concepts of this process.

slow snail

In a world where we hear phrases like "Time is money" and in a "New York minute". I think we lose the value of the process and can sometime do ourselves more harm than good. This could have been a three day process but I took the time to enjoy the experience and learn as much as I could. Here are some of the things I did along the way:

  1. Map out the structure of the game.
  2. Research some new methods and function I was using.
  3. Test, Test and Test some more, which lead to some debugging.

Now by doing that I feel like I have added more to the tool box. Which I can say I feel confident using in the future for other projects.

Process on Chalkboard

As I was going through building this game. I made sure to take notes on new things I was learning and looking for other examples of how they were used to help my understanding. Here are some tips I use along the way.

  1. Use documentation and example found in them to help you.
  2. Write it out in your own words or try to explain it to someone.
  3. Play around with it in a repel(Depending on the method).
  4. Comment it in your code and use variables to help you define it until you don't need the comment anymore to understand what it does.

I hope these tips help. I hope to continue to add more as I learn more on this journey to share with others.

Until next time Happy Coding πŸ‘¨πŸΏβ€πŸ’»πŸ‘¨πŸ»β€πŸ’»πŸ‘©β€πŸ’»πŸ§‘πŸΎβ€πŸ’»

Top comments (0)