DEV Community

Cover image for Steps to 👨🏿‍💻👨🏿‍💻👨🏿‍💻 pt 1
Doug Jones
Doug Jones

Posted on

Steps to 👨🏿‍💻👨🏿‍💻👨🏿‍💻 pt 1

Building New Projects

Late Night Coding

I'm in the process of not just working on building my javascript skills. But also attempting to build my first game. While I don't expect this to become a console classic. I want to create an approach that could be used not just for this project but for others in the future.

One of the first thing I did was create a roadmap. While I know that it seems obvious. I wanted to approach this with learning goals and a flexible direction.

Notes.md file

Inside of this file I created a list of things I wanted to accomplish with this project.

  1. What was the goal of this app?
  2. What files I would need?
  3. What am I testing for?
  4. What are my stretch goal?

Steps To The Goal

steps

Pseudo Code

pseudo code

Pseudo Code is a way of mapping out steps to help you solve a problem or describe a line of code.

Up to this point. I have written out what each function is doing and what each file is for to help me process through each step.

Test Driven Development

Test Driven Development

Test Driven-Development is a process of repeatedly testing software against different edge cases throughout the process.

While building out this game so far. I've been mindful to test everything and check my notes.md file to make sure everything is where I want it and to make updates as needed.

If something is not working or passing the test. The next question is why?

Review your code its important to make sure you go through it with a fine tooth comb?
One of the biggest things that I have experienced so far is spelling.

The saying dot your eyes and cross your t's is an under statement.

Hopefully this outline of my process helps you on your journey. Look forward to sharing the journey with you and I complete this process.

Happy Coding 👨🏿‍💻👨🏻‍💻🧑🏾‍💻👩‍💻

Top comments (0)