DEV Community

Jason C. McDonald
Jason C. McDonald

Posted on • Updated on

A Strange Request (for Charity)

This is a little awkward to post, but understand that if it weren't for the charitable nature, I wouldn't dare in a million years!

I work at a residential addition rehab program, as a teacher in the vocational education department, and as an incidental computer technician when the need arises. Right now, I'm trying to build a Windows 98 computer, for running some classic educational software that would greatly help the residents and their kids. (By the way, a virtual machine is out, I already considered it.) I'm hoping to have this ready to go by the last week of August.

I have an extensive stash of "outdated" technology, which I renovate with Linux for charity. However, out of everything I have, a Windows 98 computer turns out not to be one of them. The newer machines I have won't cut it, as there are no graphics drivers that will allow Windows 98 to run in 256 colors, nor have audio.

So, here's my thought: if I can get my hands on a single, functional motherboard that was designed for Windows 98, I can probably take it from there! I've got multiple towers, all of them with perfectly decent PSUs, drives, fans, and more RAM than you can shake a stick at. I merely need the motherboard (and its backplate, obviously) to get this done.

For the record, I'd gladly find and purchase one myself, except being unemployed, that's presently beyond my means. All of my parts and equipment were either gifts, donations, or cheap second-hand finds.

If you have one on hand you'd be willing to donate and ship, you'd be helping me help a lot of people, and I would be ETERNALLY grateful. (I'll also emblazon your screen-name on the finished computer case if you wish, right next to the DEV sticker. I'll provide pictures, of course.) If that's you, please comment with size factor and other specs, so I can double-check that I've got a case and equipment to match.

Once again, I really hate to post this, but this is for a good cause, and dev.to() seemed like the best place to ask. Thanks for your patience with this odd little request!

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
cotcotcoder profile image
JeffD

Hi Jason, It's urgent ? I have one Windows98 computer (fully functionnal) and another motherboard however I can not send you size factor and other specs before 2018-07-28 😕

Collapse
 
codemouse92 profile image
Jason C. McDonald

Hi JeffD, thanks. I only have to have it done by September, in time for the new trimester, so I don't mind waiting a bit for specs. Thanks!

Collapse
 
cotcotcoder profile image
JeffD

Jason, I have a Gigabyte GA-7IX Rev 1.1. AMD Athlon Proc (K7500MTR51B) included - And 3 slots for PC133 RAM (2*128Mo used).

The other motherboard seems to be HS :(

Thread Thread
 
codemouse92 profile image
Jason C. McDonald • Edited

Thanks Jeff! So I presume the Gigabyte is the one that runs Windows 98? (I did find drivers for it online.) If so, I just need to double-check the graphics is running at least 256 colors. If so, that'd be absolutely perfect.

So, it looks like the GA-7IX is an ATX, which should fit the cases I have.

What's the spec on the PSU? If I've got one with the same spec, only the mobo will need to be shipped.

Thanks again!

Thread Thread
 
cotcotcoder profile image
JeffD

Yep ATX 200mm * 300mm * 65mm (65mm is the CPU cooling system)
PSU ? Power supply ? Sadly I didn' take it with me :( I can only read ATX PWR on the board.

Thread Thread
 
codemouse92 profile image
Jason C. McDonald • Edited

Ehh, well, that's pretty universal. I've got three units with ATX motherboards and working PSUs here, so any one of those can become the new home for that mobo.

Sounds good like a plan! Follow me here on Dev.to (I just followed you), and then we can PM each other and I'll send you my mailing info. Thanks a million and one! :D