DEV Community

Cover image for Do Mechanical Keyboards Boost Coding?
Sloan the DEV Moderator for CodeNewbie

Posted on

Do Mechanical Keyboards Boost Coding?

🎤🔊 Hey all tech enthusiasts, it's time to rumble in the digital jungle! In one corner, we've got bold and controversial tech statements, ready to assert their dominance. And in the other corner, we've got you, the fearless challengers, set to prove 'em wrong! Get ready to rumble as we dive into debates, challenge the status quo, and wrestle with some of the biggest questions in tech!

Prove me wrong: Using a mechanical keyboard makes you a better coder.

Follow the CodeNewbie Org and #codenewbie for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (16)

Collapse
 
deisenhut profile image
Dan Eisenhut

I have a Dell keyboard at work and a nice mechanical keyboard with brown switches at home. I can definitely type faster and with less mistakes on the mechanical. And the Dell keeps ghosting on the Esc and 'g' keys which is really annoying. I'd get a mechanical for work, but I'd likely annoy everyone around me.

Collapse
 
overflow profile image
overFlow

hey I know I might be off topic here but i snooped into your profile. I see that you only do C/C++. How does that work? Any frmaeworks?
Because I wanna do only just JS. Am I an oddity? is it feasible ?
What do you think?
Everyone here is some sort of polyglot. They do more than one thing !!!
Too many things for my liking.

Collapse
 
deisenhut profile image
Dan Eisenhut

I do mostly C/C++, and a lot of bash scripting and lately some python scripts. The Linux kernel is a lot of C and I'm currently down at that layer looking at hardware schematics and figuring out Yocto configurations.

Thread Thread
 
overflow profile image
overFlow

awesome stuff. i like the focused idea of being focused without worry bout nothing else. That should make one spectacularly awesome at what one does!!

Thread Thread
 
deisenhut profile image
Dan Eisenhut

From my own experience and mistakes, I would advise against staying focused on only one thing and ignoring everything else. Things will change and you will find yourself stuck in a silo with limited opportunities. Keep at least a cursory understanding of everything else around you. Accept that you will always be learning new stuff.

Thread Thread
 
overflow profile image
overFlow

okay. i will do that definitely.

Collapse
 
overflow profile image
overFlow

I wouldnt like you either lol...
chiclets are nice but i do not consider them to be perfomance keys.
mechanicals are like bringing a rrari to work !!!
Plus they come with lit keys, pouches and all kinds of different things ....ill be flexing with xmas lights there ...lol
making nice clickiddy clanking ....
I am using a piece of laptop machinery from the XP era with the mechanical like keys but not mechanical.

Collapse
 
ingosteinke profile image
Ingo Steinke

A mechanical keyboard makes me code much better than no keyboard at all. I like mechanical keyboards, and any physical keyboards makes me type much faster than a virtual soft keyboard on a small smartphone screen. But what makes me a better coder? I could sit on a chair with no technological device at all, just giving advice, asking questions and discussing code, taking part in software architecture decisions or in a mob programming session. That could boost coding and make me a better coder on another level.

Short answer: no.

Collapse
 
overflow profile image
overFlow

IM down for mechanical keyboards gamers mouses ...hoodies in the dark and dark mode...it’s like putting a horse on blinkers and giving it its favorite clikidy clackidy shoes if they really like those ....I think it will run better ... and such is life ...one needs lol the tools in this this rat race to help one focus on the task at hand

Collapse
 
overflow profile image
overFlow

Maybe it jus makes coding fun ...all the clickiddy clancking of all kinds; the sounds and feelings make a difference ...which I think can contribute to performance. maybe not knowledge. but when you enjoy your task you can do more and tire less ....it’s like playing and working at the same time....it helps.

Collapse
 
yavuzakbay profile image
Yavuz

Doesn't boost but if you're into that ASMR thing it makes you feel a bit more comfortable. That depends on which kinda switch is that, some switches can make your ears bleed too. And since their key travels are low, you can write a bit more fast maybe. Except that I don't see any benefits of that about coding. I'm coding with mechanical keyboard and when I'm out I'm using Macbook 2021. Both of them feels good but I definitely wouln't go with membrane ones ever again.

Collapse
 
steffennielse20 profile image
Steffen Nielsen

I used to use the normal/everday dell keyboard at work, and at home i used the steelseries keyboard. But today i use a MX Key (mechanical) at work and a custom keyboard at home. Since everyone in the office has a clicky keyboard, i was convinced to try i out, and for some reason i feel much more connected with what im typing :D

I type way fast, because of the feedback i get, and i just feels more satisfying.
That said, i sometimes still used my old keyboard just for the fun of it :D

I now think of a keyboard as a tool. I mean, i sit behind a screen for must of the day, so i might aswell have the best tool for the job :D

Collapse
 
rasheedmozaffar profile image
Rasheed K Mozaffar

Make you a better coder, for sure not.
But, it makes it easier to start coding, or keep coding for longer time periods as it's really satisfying to type on a mechanical keyboard, it has a special feeling, so if you are going to stick around coding for longer periods, you might become a better coder, but that's not a definitive answer!

Collapse
 
larry_lo_5896c556cf188250 profile image
Larry Lo

Not really.

Collapse
 
pizofreude profile image
Pizofreude

Only if you can suggest me a silent one. Typing experience is awesome no doubt, just the noise is a deal breaker to me.

Collapse
 
villelmo profile image
William Torrez

A nice keyboard take care of your health and the typing increase the speed.