DEV Community

lifeascoder
lifeascoder

Posted on

Why I am switching to Ubuntu 20.04 from 22.04

Hey there! I am Gautham & It has been a long-time since I posted a video or a 'dev community' post. I've been spending my time at school and watching YouTube videos (actually lazy to take a video & write a post. sOrrY.)I am going to switch to Ubuntu 20.04 nearly and This is the ReAsoN_!_.

I've taken a love to Ubuntu 22.04 as I am a big fan of customising & I like new features of Ubuntu 22.04 but some of the following things has disappointed me. First Pros then Cons.

PROS

  • Nice customising widgets and things.
  • Amazing pre-built screen recording.
  • As a Linux nerd, It was love at first sight with the distro.
  • The new Gnome 42 was an amazing experience.

CONS

  • The Screen recording was amazing as a pre-built but cannot record for a long time and low screen recording quality.
  • The System hanged many times as I changed the version of Kernel to 5.18 for a solution but It was also not that good.
  • The given version of Firefox was not compatible with gnome extensions as It was not connected as it says.
  • Even though after I managed to install the correct version of Firefox, Only some of the extensions was able to use.
  • Was not up to my expectation.

There are also a quite more things but these are the most important this that I think I should include. I've just downloaded the files and Rufus now, At the time this post was posted in the internet. I am also thinking of putting a video about this. One more thing to say is that, I am posting it on Thursday, But I am having class, right? I am not well with my health recently so took 2-days leave. Going to school on Friday. Ok, then!

Thank you,
Gautham G Nair.

If you also have any problem with Ubuntu 22.04, Please include it below as I am really interested to know your problems and See if I can solve it for you. Thank you for the patience of reading this post and spending your valuable time reading it.

Top comments (0)