DEV Community

codingcouple
codingcouple

Posted on

Nevertheless, Marty from @codingcouple Coded

I began coding because...

Two years ago I realised I'm much more interested in technology behind my work than my actual job. I'm an architect, and while I extremely enjoy every aspect of it, I had to face the fact I was the most excited to learn APIs and programme plug-ins for our software, code my company's website or collaborate with VR teams. This natural progression of my skills and interests led me to the point when I decided to officially pivot my career into software development.

I'm currently hacking on...

JavaScript! It's so exciting how JS has grown over the past years and became one of the hottest languages right now, due to its functional nature, enormous expressive power and also increasing popularity as a server-side language.

I'm excited about...

what can be around the corner! I'm switching my career to tech and this is the most interesting and ambitious time to be working in technology. I am amazed by the tech community: the passion, support and optimism which runs through it - this is so addictive! I thrive on learning new skills, meeting new people and facing new challenges. Fast-paced technology environment is a perfect match for me. What is more, I'm greatly attracted by its diversity. It's mind-boggling how many different projects I could be involved in. I am fascinated by the continuous opportunity to progress my career.

My advice for other women who code is...

to explore and be adventurous! Tech offers so many incredible opportunities right now. Don't think too much about the pros and cons or how this job title will affect your future career. Trust your intuition and try new things - this will ultimately open doors for you, not close them. And have fun all along the way!

Top comments (0)